A New Challenge and Opportunity

Today I got word from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary that I have been accepted to enroll as a student in their Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) program under the “Ministry to Emerging Generations” track.  Click here to go to the GCTS website describing the program more fully.

I’m really excited about this opportunity to continue my education in a way that is very practical and useful.  I’ve heard the D.Min. compared to a M.D. (Medical Doctor).  The doctor you visit for a physical checkup isn’t the person who discovered how germs work and how to protect the body from harm.  Rather, he or she is someone who has studied what has already been discovered and has been trained to use that knowledge to your benefit.  Likewise, a pastor with a D.Min. does not seek to “discover” new biblical/theological insights, but, rather, he seeks to study more deeply in order that his ministry might grow more effective in bringing the spiritual lost to love Jesus Christ with all their heart, soul, strength, and mind.

That’s my hope.  I hope that through this program I might grow more effective and confident in my ministry to teenagers and that I would see them walking more closely with Jesus Christ.

Prayer Requests:

  1. Pray for my family as I some family-time will be sacrificed for these studies.
  2. Pray for self-discipline since the overwhelming majority of this program is self-study (I’m only required to be on campus for one two-week period each year… the rest is all done at home).
  3. Pray for me to go the extra mile and to really incorporate what I’m learning into the youth ministry God has called me to lead at Emmanuel.
  4. Pray for God to continue to provide financially for me and my family as I pursue this doctorate.

Leave a Reply

