Show Me What I’m Looking For

Carolina Liar is a newer band with a southern-rock feel to their music.  Based off what I’ve heard from them so far, I like them.  I downloaded their song “Show me what I’m looking for” a few weeks back off of iTunes and it came on my ipod yesterday while it was on shuffle.  The lyrics really struck me more than they have all the other times I’d listened to the song.  Here’s the video/song:

In the video, you see the singer in different places representing what some people “are looking for” (sex, money, friends, fun) all the while singing:

Save me, I’m lost
Oh lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for
Show me what I’m looking for… oh Lord

What are you counting on for peace and meaning in life?  There are three questions we all ask ourselves, and how we answer them will determine how we spend our lives:

  1. Who am I? (Identity)
  2. Why am I here? (Purpose)
  3. Where do I belong? (Belonging)

This song reminds me of those questions and challenges me to constantly be reminding myself to cling to the knowledge that God made me in his image to serve and love him and to show his amazing love to others so that they would know His love too.

Where are you seeking answers to these big questions?

Jesus says: “Come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

Leave a Reply

