10 Things Adults Should Know About Teens

While searching some blogs for creative youth group ideas I came across this great site with a posting I want to share with you. “Top 10 things adults should know about youth”

Here they are listed out, but click the link for more:

  1. Teens are people too
  2. Teens need time
  3. Teens like adults
  4. Teens have a lot to teach us
  5. Teens’ body clocks are different from ours’
  6. Teens are passionate
  7. Teens want to “own” their experience
  8. Teens are fun to be around
  9. Teens can be a source of great frustration
  10. Teens are not adults

13 thoughts on “10 Things Adults Should Know About Teens

  1. waliver78 November 24, 2009 / 3:34 pm

    I agree in many of these list of things.
    But also taking in the following.
    Teens are growing up to be adults.
    Once they start showing some responsibility . why not treat a teen with such respect

  2. Dubious Student December 8, 2009 / 1:15 am

    I concur with waliver, although I believe that teens also want to be trusted as well.

  3. ebccrosswalk December 8, 2009 / 11:50 am

    Waliver & Dubious Student: I agree with both of you as well. I don’t think this list comes across as saying not to trust & respect teens, but if that’s how you read it I apologize. Teenagers are WAY more capable than most adults give them credit for, but it is important to remember that teenagers aren’t yet adults. Unfortunately, adults often tell teens “Grow up!” and then when they want to be treated like adults they’re told “You’re just a kid!” – how confusing! I think it’s important for adults (especially parents!) to work on striking that balance between trust and accountability…

  4. Dubious Student December 8, 2009 / 5:38 pm

    No I wasn’t even saying that! No apology is needed, I am just saying that it would be good contribution to add to the list. That is very true, accountability is also important to the relationship between teens and their parents because without that you have a lot more problems with teens questioning the authority of parents in general.

  5. dragonfly14 December 22, 2009 / 6:02 pm

    It is important that teens read, and read decent books.
    I have written a book that is directed to teens. It will be a trilogy, and the first one Mark of the Tattoo has been published. I am almost finished with the second, The Dengu Odyssey. They are fantasy with a christian theme. The lead, Uri, fights good and evil in all three of the books, To find out more, please vist my Blog–Dragonfly14.wordpress.com
    Thanks and God bless all your efforts. Cheryl Castro

  6. sweetieuhadme December 24, 2009 / 7:04 pm

    I think that, as a teen myself I can add that teens don’t want to be categorized like this. Just like adults we are individual people so you can’t make a generalization about us. That’s like saying all adults with black hair like to talk about animals. Does that make sense?

    • ebccrosswalk December 26, 2009 / 10:48 pm

      It’s totally not my intention to put all teenagers into an easily defined “box” – that’s why I liked this article I linked to so much: because the “10 Things about Teens” are so broad and don’t try to say “every teen is like this.” So I agree, making generalizations isn’t always entirely helpful, but some generalizations are: If you went to India and they asked you what it’s like to live in America, you’d make some generalizations which would be helpful even though that may not be what life is like for everyone in America. Know what I mean? I’m not trying to say “This is a description of all teenagers you’ll meet” so much as I want to encourage parents and other adults to keep these 10 things in mind about teens.

  7. jstjessie January 22, 2010 / 12:23 am

    So i agree, but not totally. As a teen myself, I am very responsible, and my parents do not trust me at all, and that makes me really angry. And sometimes they treat my like a five year old, and adults should know that teens are almost adults, and they can take care of themselves. And most importantly they do not need, nor want the constant nagging and bossing around and criticizing, because we as teens, have already made up our minds about things, and to be totally honest, we do not intend to change our minds. Furthermore, when a parent tells us to do something that we are totally opposed to, we will do just the OPPOSITE, just for making our parents mad. If your an adult, hopefully you can relate all those years back to when you were a kid, and if you are a kid, then you totally understand.. Right??

    • ebccrosswalk January 22, 2010 / 9:16 am

      If I was ten years younger I’d be a teenager (barely!), but as a Youth Pastor I’m regularly reminded of my life and experiences as a teenager and I constantly try to remember what I felt and thought as a teen. That being said, I do think that I’m wiser now than I was then… and looking back I wish I listened to my parents more than I did. Some parents do treat their teens like they’re young children, but there are some teens who act like children while demanding the respect that you give adults.

      I’m a huge advocate of teenagers living in a way that demands the respect and freedom they want from their parents. Typically, from my experience, more teens say “I’m an adult, when will you treat me like it!” while they refuse to help out around the house or fulfill other responsibilities… what would happen if your parents didn’t follow through on their responsibilities at home or at work?

      So yes – parents should give their teenage children more responsibilities and freedoms than they gave them before they were teens. But at the same time I think teens should live in a way that makes it easier for their parents to trust them and give them freedom and responsibility.

      Final thought: Mark Twain wrote, “When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.” I love that!

  8. spinnakerjksc April 26, 2010 / 5:23 pm

    I think you’re exactly right… these are ten great points!

    I love your site! You might like mine too.. here’s my latest blog: http://wp.me/pq3cW-hV
    Leave a comment if you stop by!

    God Bless,
    J

Leave a Reply

