Does Music Affect Your Behavior?

We’ve all heard it (and most of us have said it, at some point): “I just like the music!  I don’t really pay attention to the lyrics.”

C’mon… I don’t think we even believe it as we’re saying it!  If we were more honest we’d say, “Yeah, I know what the lyrics are (I can sing along!), but I don’t think they influence me.”  But to claim ignorance is just foolish.

What are you listening to on your iPod or on the radio?  How does your faith in Christ affect what you choose to listen to?  Really, that’s something super important to think through, regardless of your age.

Here’s a great article by Jonathan McKee entitled, “You mean… the lyrics DO affect me!”  It’s a good read for all of us and gives some practical tips especially for parents in helping their teenagers think through godly music choices.

This whole topic is very timely, especially considering Pastor John’s sermon last Sunday, where he asked the question “Would Jesus Carry an iPod?”  Here are some of the notes I took from his sermon that I think could be helpful on this topic:

1.  What’s Your Treasure?

  • “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light.”  Matthew 6:22
  • What do you spend your time looking at and listening to?  It DOES affect you, whether you realize it or not.
  • What would your life look like if you valued time with God like you value entertainment?

2. Consumption of Entertainment

  • Have you ever wondered how much entertainment is too much?
  • Do you plan your friendships around entertainment (sorry, Gossip Girl’s on, I can’t hang out)?
  • Ask yourself: Would I watch/listen to this if Jesus was sitting next to me?  (cheesy, I know, but really ask yourself that and your habits will change!)

3.  The Most Entertaining Display: The Return of Christ

  • Talk about special effects!
  • Jesus WILL return!  We don’t know when, but where do you want to be and what do you want to be doing when he returns?

I hope this is helpful as you consider whether or not music (or TV, or Movies, or other forms of entertainment) really does influence your behavior.

One thought on “Does Music Affect Your Behavior?

  1. Anonymous March 5, 2013 / 12:34 pm

    I LOVE RAP MUSIC

Leave a Reply

