Angels & Death

So I just read this amazing article on CNN about “The Third Man” experiences of people.  You can read it here.  These are experiences where people are helped or encouraged by an unseen and unknown, yet very real person.

The main story of the CNN article is of a man named James Sevigny who fell 2000 feet while mountain climbing after an avalanche.  His back broke in two places and his climbing partner died immediately due to the fall.  He resigned himself to death, until he felt and heard a gentle voice giving him directions.  He immediately did whatever the voice told him to do, and he was eventually led to where three people were skiing: a mountain guide, and elite cross-country skiier, and a nurse!

Yet this article ends with Sevigny saying,”I don’t give it great thought.  I’m not a spiritual person. I don’t say it was God or a guardian angel. I have a Ph.D. in chemistry.”  ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!  How do you not “give it great thought?”  I’d give that thoughts every day I’m alive! I don’t think that everyone has their own “guardian angel,” but Scripture certainly does teach that angels do exist.

I don’t know why, but I’m continually baffled by the hardness of the human heart and the stubbornness of unbelief.

This reminds me of the story of Lazarus and the Rich Man (Luke 16:19-31).  At the end of the story, the Rich Man dies and says  “Then I beg you, father, send Lazarus to my father’s house, for I have five brothers. Let him warn them, so that they will not also come to this place of torment.”  Abraham (the mediator in the story) replies, “If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.”

 

Leave a Reply

