I Took a Walk…

…and it was great!  I don’t know about you, but whenever I spend time in God’s creation just walking around, breathing in the wind, enjoying the sun and the noises of nature I feed “different” when I get back to the real world.   As I got to Stony Brook this morning I was walking fast and hurried when I got out of the car, because that’s simply how I’ve been making it through each day lately.  I intentionally needed to concentrate on walking slowly, looking around me (rather than just focusing on where I’m going), and enjoying the birds and chipmunks, the colors of the trees and their reflections in the water.

I always keep a small pocket-sized Bible in the console of my car, so I had that with me and read Scripture out loud when I finally got to a remote spot.  The wind was chilly and my nose started to get a little runny, but my heart was breathing well again.

The spiritual discipline of Silence & Solitude is so rare for most of us today.  This morning was another reminder to me of the immense value of these disciplines.  I’m surrounded by so much busyness, noise, and media it’s like Novocain for the heart – we just go numb.

Take a walk, it’ll be good for you!

 

Psalm 19:1-4
“The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they display knowledge.
There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.
Their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.”

 

Leave a Reply

