DMB’s Christmas Song: He Got it Partially Right…

I’ve always liked Dave Matthew’s Band’s “Christmas Song” – I just like the tune of it, but I’ve also been equally troubled by some of the lyrics.  But he got it partially right: in this “Christmas Song,” DMB focuses on Christ’s death on the cross.  So often we go through the Christmas season talking about a baby boy and the excitement of Christ’s birth (which is totally appropriate to focus on), but we shouldn’t ever forget that God the Son took on flesh as a baby boy in order to saved us from our sins through suffering and dying on the cross… and rising from the grave.

DMB’s lyrics that make it seem like Jesus wasn’t entirely “on board” with dying on the cross (yes, he struggled in the Garden of Gethsemane; but we see him time and time again mention in the Gospels the knew it was his purpose in coming, even though the disciples didn’t).  I’m still not entire sure I understand the recurrence of “The blood of our children all around” (8 times in the song), but I don’t think it’s too far off that this is pointing to the wars that have come in history because of religion (especially considering DMB’s other songs and general dislike for religion).

Do I like this song?  Yeah, I do – it’s a good reminder to me that Christ was born in order to give his life for mine so I can be forgiven and reconciled to God.  But this song’s also a very good reminder to me (and hopefully to you) to be discerning listeners of the music we like… just because a song sounds good and the general topic of it is appealing, that doesn’t mean everything in it is good.

You can find the lyrics here.

2 thoughts on “DMB’s Christmas Song: He Got it Partially Right…

  1. Trisha December 10, 2009 / 7:52 pm

    Yes Mike I agree. He got it partially right. I guess I’m just surprised he even would write a song like this. Maybe some seeds were planted and maybe they’ll take root. I guess we can only hope for all members of the DMB. 🙂

  2. Trisha December 10, 2009 / 7:53 pm

    PS. Love the snow.

Leave a Reply

