Are we bad, or do we do bad things?

Have you ever thought about that question before?  This question is focused on our relationship to sin and asks, “Does sin define me?”  I know a lot of people who openly confess that they aren’t perfect (and therefore that they sin), and yet they would call me judgmental for telling them that they’re sinners.

I know that I sin… and that I’m a sinner.  It is way more natural for me to sin and to do whatever I want than it is for me to do good and to obey Jesus’ teachings.  Can’t we all admit that?  I think that we all know that there’s just something “wrong” about all of us.

I’ve been thinking about the story where G.K. Chesterton and other famous British writers were asked to write essays for a newspaper giving their explanation for what’s wrong in the world.  Chesterton’s reply was simple and short: “I am.”

It’s easy and tempting to look around us and to cast blame on others for all of our faults, but when we’re really honest with ourselves I think we all know that there’s something broken inside of us.

The Bible teaches that we were created in the Image of God, but that image was shattered like a broken mirror when we sinned.  From that moment on, all of humanity has not only been sinful, but we have become sinners.  Sin isn’t just something we do, it’s a part of our core identity.  Theologians call this “Original Sin” because we are all naturally-born-sinners.

“There is no one righteous, not even one;… For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”  (Romans 3:10, 23–24)

“Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, and in this way death came to all men, because all sinned”  (Romans 5:12)

Imagine shaving while looking into a mirrorball or trying to figure our what a person looks like when all you have as a reference point is a picture that is extremely out of focus.  That’s how we’ve become as God’s image-bearers.  We still are made in His image, but it’s broken in us because we’re sinners and God is Holy and Perfect.  But hope is not lost, for our Creator and Savior made us, and He knows how to heal and repair our brokenness!

“What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!  So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.” (Romans 7:24–25)

What do you think?  When you think about yourself and your identity, will you confess that you are a sinner before God?  Will you stand before your all-knowing Judge and claim innocence despite confessions that you have done “bad things?”  …It’s worth thinking about…

Leave a Reply

