Love Your Church…

Here’s a common saying about churches: “If you find the perfect church, don’t join it… you’d ruin it.”  The idea is that since there are no perfect people, there are no perfect churches.  We all come with baggage… so do churches… that shouldn’t be a surprise or mystery to anyone.

Pastor John’s sermon on “Community” this past Sunday was really encouraging to me.  I was especially encouraged when he said something along the lines of, “I’m not always easy to love.  But when you love me when I’m unlovable THAT’S when Christian love really means something!  That’s what makes Christian love so beautiful – it loves the unlovable.”

Last night was EBC’s Annual Meeting.  I thought it went pretty well (way too long…) and left it feeling generally encouraged.  But not everyone felt that way.  So here are a few links to some blog posts a friend of me “happened” to post onto his Facebook page and they caught my eye because of their timeliness:

Both of these posts linked to above are short, easy reads.  If you attend church anywhere, you really should read both of these and keep them in mind…

Leave a Reply

