Listening to the Spirit

It seems that listening to the Holy Spirit has been a theme that has come up more and more in my personal time in Scripture lately.  Here are a few verses God has used to be speaking to me lately as well as a song that struck a chord in me this morning.  Enjoy:

  • “My heart says of you, ‘Seek his face!’ Your face, LORD I will seek.” (Psalm 27:9)
  • “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you.” (Ps. 32:8-9)
  • “Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.  Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit to sustain me.” (Ps. 51:11-12)

One thought seems to keep coming to mind, based off of Ps. 32:9 – “Don’t mule kick God’s will.”  I don’t want to be like a horse or mule, forced to do God’s will.  I want to have a submissive spirit that joyfully obeys whatever God asks me.  Yet, when I’m really honest, my heart resembles a stubborn mule more than the submissive spirit I desire.  Holy Spirit, keep on working in me so that you can work through me.

“Holy Spirit Have Your Way” by Leeland

One thought on “Listening to the Spirit

Leave a Reply

