Flooded?

I’ve been bailing water out of my basement… most people who live in Massachusetts and Rhode Island have been doing the same.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Ephesians 5:18, “Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.”  Technically, the last part of this verse could also read “be drunk with the Spirit.”  We should not be filled up with alcohol, but with God Himself!  One of the main differences is that while drunkenness impairs your judgment and leads to foolish decisions, being filled with the Holy Spirit gives good judgment and fills you with wisdom.  I’ve been thinking about “filled with the Spirit” today.

I found myself praying something like this today,  “Lord, keep me from being a complainer.  I pray that I would not be flooded by water, but with your Holy Spirit.  Fill me with your peace, so that even in the midst of floods I will know your joy and show that to others.”

Keep in mind, I’m praying this because all too often it’s just not true of me.  I’m good at complaining… it comes very naturally to me!  But this is my prayer today, and I get the impression that there are many of us over who could benefit by praying a similar prayer and asking God to fill us up with the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

