God is my Refuge

My son, Matthew, had surgery yesterday.  He wasn’t cut open with a scalpel, he had laser surgery to remove a birthmark which covers 80% of his face.  My wife, Tracy, and I have been pretty anxious about this process, which will consist of these laser surgeries every two months for up to a year and a half.   We woke up early yesterday to get ready, and after getting dressed I opened up my Bible and read Psalm 16.

Psalm 16:1-2 says “Keep me safe, O God, for in you I take refuge.  I said to the LORD, ‘You are my refuge; apart from you I have no good thing.'”

What a reminder!  God is our refuge, our shelter, our protection and fortress.  Some people look at Christians and see people who are weak and spineless and need to run to an imaginary “God” to protect them.  Sometimes I’m tempted to defend myself from that accusation, but the reality is that I DO need a refuge!  I do need God… apart from him I have no good thing.

Everything I have in life which is good has been given to me from God.  And it’s so easy for me to hold on to those gifts so tightly that I treat them like I earned them.  My wife, my son, my family and home… they’re all gifts from God.

Yesterday was a reminder to me about how trustworthy God really is, and how much I need to rely on Him.  He is my refuge.  I am not in control of this world or of my life.  Sure, I make some decisions, but even a decision to drive down the road could be quickly cut short by a million possible other things.

God is my refuge, apart from Him I have nothing good.  This means more to me today than it did last week…

Leave a Reply

