Got a Calloused Heart?

I play the guitar (not very well… but enough to say I play), so the fingertips on my left hand are calloused.  I remember learning to play while in college and my fingertips killed me the first few days.  The skin was thin and sensitive to the pressure required to push the strings against the fretboard, but the more I practiced the less my fingers hurt… because the skin was growing calloused and thick.

In Ephesians 4:18-20 (ESV translation) says, “They (the ungodly) are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, due to their hardness of heart. They have become callous and have given themselves up to sensuality, greedy to practice every kind of impurity.” Paul writes about people with calloused hearts – hearts that are hard, insensitive, and unfeeling to the things of God.  The irony is that our hearts grow calloused to God’s Word by not practicing obedience while our skin grows calloused by working hard (whether it’s playing the guitar or doing other manual labor).

What’s your heart’s condition?  When you open your Bible to read it, do you hear God speaking to you?  When you pray, do you know that God is hearing your prayer?  If you don’t, then prayerfully consider whether or not you have a heart-condition and ask yourself some hard questions:

  • Are you truly seeking the Lord, or are you only looking for a solution to a problem (using God as your ‘safety net’)?
  • Is there unconfessed sin you need to bring before Jesus Christ (and repent of it!)

Maybe your heart is in the right place and God has chosen to simply remain silent for a period of time in order to strengthen your faith.

“But if from there you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul.” (Deuteronomy 4:29)

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:11–13)

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7)

Leave a Reply

