Where Your Treasure Is…

Here’s a link to a great article on the importance of tithing entitled “Giving My Dinosaurs.”  In the article, Suzanne Gosselin cites a 2008 Barna Study on Tithing which says, “Several groups stood out as highly unlikely to tithe: people under the age of 25, atheists and agnostics, single adults who have never been married…. One percent or less of the people in each of those segments tithed in 2007.”

Only 1% of people under the age 25 tithe… the same percentage as atheists and agnostics.  It’s not that I’m completely surprised by this, but in some ways I am.

Parents, teach your children about tithing now, while they’re young. If they receive a weekly allowance, teach them to give 10% in the offering tray each week (we can even get your son/daughter their very own tithing envelope if you request one!).  I wish my parents taught me to be a giver when I was young, it sure would’ve made it a lot less painful to start tithing when I had a “real” job.

Jesus was right (shocking, I know!), “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21).  Let’s start teaching the next generation to store up treasure in heaven from a young age!

Leave a Reply

