I Hope I Never Become a Cool Dad

I love being a dad, but I hope I never become a “cool dad.”  Check out this commercial and really ask yourself what this is trying to teach men about what it means to be a dad.

Moms and Dads need to care more about their kids than they care about their kids’ opinions of them.  Sure I want my son and daughter to think I’m fun and I want them to enjoy spending time with me as they get older… but not at the cost of putting them in charge over me.  I am their Dad and God has given me the responsibility to teach them to respect authority, to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with God (Micah 6:8).

“Cool dads” have a tough time doing that because discipline and correction aren’t cool.  I hope I never become a cool dad.

Leave a Reply

