Bruno Mars’ “Grenade”

Bruno Mars is a singer/songwriter who’s all over the place lately.  Overall, I like his sound and wonder where he’s coming from spiritually, as some of his stuff can pretty easily be reinterpreted to have spiritual/Christian significance (although I’m not really convinced that was his motive, but it’s possible he intended for there to be a double meaning).

Check out his song “Grenade” below and look for the parallels between himself and Christ carrying his cross and Mars carrying his piano.  The song is all about unrequited love and the pain of rejection and betrayal.  I don’t love the way the video ends (him facing a train about to run him over), but it draws out the symbolism of him acting as a Christ-figure giving up his life.  The glaring difference between Mars’ death in the video and Christ’s is that in the video his death doesn’t seem connected with anything other than his despair (and I really don’t like the potential message that could send people about how to deal with hear heartache and despair) while Christ’s death was brought about by the very people who rejected him.

You can get the lyrics here, but I’ve really come to like this song a lot and it turns my heart towards giving thanks to Christ for his love and grace towards me whenever I hear it on the radio.

Here’s a sample of some of the lyrics I’m talking about:

“Gave you all I had and you tossed it in the trash
You tossed it in the trash, you did
To give me all your love is all I ever asked
‘Cause what you don’t understand is

I’d catch a grenade for ya
Throw my hand on a blade for ya
I’d jump in front of a train for ya
You know I’d do anything for ya

I would go through all this pain
Take a bullet straight through my brain
Yes, I would die for you, baby
But you won’t do the same”

Leave a Reply

