American Idol’s Lessons on Stardom

I haven’t really followed this season of Idol too much, but I’ve mostly enjoyed what I’ve watched and was pretty disappointed when Casey was sent home.  So as I watched the finale last night I was feeling a little behind on the drama of who should win and whatnot.

Earlier in the day I had read an interesting post on Jonathan McKee’s blog entitled “American Idol Too Racy?” where he’s shared his concerns about the blatant sexuality during the guest performances recently.  Granted, this is only one night, and I haven’t been watching all season, but I’m afraid I had to agree with Jonathan’s conclusions.

There were two main things that disappointed me:

  1. Beyonce and J.Lo (in two separate performances) shaking their bodies around the stage for people to stare at.
  2. At one point during Lady Gaga’s performance of “Edge of Glory” I actually said, “Wow, this is a pretty boring performance for Gaga… and she’s actually wearing something.”  But then two seconds later she laid down on the platform, spread her legs, and one of her dangers got on top of her.

It seems American Idol’s final piece of advice on how to be a big music star is you’ve got to look a certain way, push the envelope, and ooze sexuality on stage.

I hope Scotty and Lauren (the two youngest finalists in Idol history) don’t take their cues from the “professionals” they saw perform in the finale.  I did, however, enjoy the Judas Priest throw-back (and thought James Durban sounded really good with them), and I loved that Bono & The Edge performed a song from the Spiderman musical which was great (my wife might actually be able to get me to Broadway).

I wish that Idol could have stepped back and censored itself a little bit: “Here we are with the youngest final two ever, with tons of families around the country watching with their kids… do we really think this is the best choice of performances to approve?”

For all you Scotty fans out there, Jonathan’s blog has a new post up with an email he received from Scotty McCreery’s youth pastor… it turns out he really is the good, Christian kid he seems to be, which is really great to hear.

One thought on “American Idol’s Lessons on Stardom

  1. Cheryl May 27, 2011 / 1:04 pm

    I must admit that I am not usually offended by these types of performances if aired for an appropriate audience. (Or watching MTV) This however was not the case on American Idol. The guest performances on this years shows were over the top. American Idol is watched by so many families, and children are probably the largest group of voters they have each week. How can they justify broadcasting this type of thing on a regular network station during prime time? But more importantly, what can we do about it? There must be many other people that were offended by this but don’t know how to stop it.

Leave a Reply

