Reflections on Blogging: Does My Blog Reflect Who I Am?

I’ve been wrestling with my blog lately.  But really, the wrestle has been against myself:

  • Why do I seem so negative?
  • Why can’t I be more positive and encouraging?
  • Do I really think that I know more than everyone else who like this song or movie or Christmas light display? Who are you to judge?
  • You think about yourself as an approachable and gracious guy, but your blog doesn’t really reflect that –  so is your blog wrong about how it portrays you… or are you wrong in how you think about yourself?

And this just makes me wrestle.  Writing is hard work, but it can also be mindless and easy to simply let your fingers start typing without really thinking about what you’re putting out there on the internet for everyone to read.  I want to write thoughtfully.  Blogging has been one of the most fruitful disciplines I’ve cultivated over the last two years because it has forced me to think through a number of issues more intentionally thank I would have if I wasn’t going to write about it.

Part of the reason I blog is because I learn best by writing: I Write to Understand.  So much of what my readers find up here is a blog full of “half-baked” thoughts, not fully thought-through and well researched posts that are ready to be sent to a publisher.  I stand behind what I’ve written on this blog, but there are a number of posts I wish I had spent more time on crafting a better and more gracious way to communicate my message (and I just don’t have time to go through all my blog posts and edit them, sorry).

I’m not really a fan of “New Years Resolutions,” so I’m not making one of those.  But I want to commit to my readers that I want to be more intentional in making my blog posts sound more like “Mike” and less like “Partially thought-through reflections from Mike’s brain.”

I hope that this blog will continue to serve as a forum where I can write blog posts that are helpful to teenagers, parents, and youth workers where they are encouraged to think through various issues, primarily: Living for Christ in today’s culture, Issues adolescents face, Parenting teenagers, and Ministering to today’s teenagers.

Until I get a better grip on becoming a better blogger I’m left with the honest (and humbling) admission that I need to personally take ownership for what I’ve written and combat pride and judgmentalism and simply hold onto God’s Word as the Holy Spirit continues to make me more and more like Jesus.

I’m aware that a number of my friends on Facebook who are not connected to my ministry at EBC read what I write up here, and for the times when these posts have unintentionally made you second guess what kind of person/Christian I am, I hope you’ll give me some grace and keep on reading.  

PS: In case you’re wondering, this post isn’t the result of anything in particular and I haven’t received complaints from people.  This is simply the result my desire to better reflect the grace and humility I hope to give in person, and I’m not so sure it’s been doing that very well.

One thought on “Reflections on Blogging: Does My Blog Reflect Who I Am?

  1. Karl Dahlfred December 15, 2011 / 5:48 pm

    Nice post, Mike. Keep writing, keep reflecting and review why you write what you write and why. I do. I also struggle with the “Am I being too negative question?” so I try to balance my blog between more general positive, encouraging posts and more critical “this is wrong in the church” kind of posts. I’m not sure I have struck a balance but I keep this question before me, “Will what I write be helpful to others?” Whether it is a positive or negative post, if that question can be answered in the affirmative, then I usually go ahead and post it.

Leave a Reply

