Thankful for Teams

Let me admit it: I can’t do it all.  And you know what… you can’t either!

This morning as I was making my second cup of coffee I was thinking about this weekend’s youth group event we’ve dubbed “The Night of Awesomeness, part deux” (part one was two years ago).  The goal for the night is simply to have a game night where all the students and leaders can reconnect with each other a few weeks after winter camp and to help catch any visitors who came to camp but haven’t plugged into Youth Group yet.

Here’s the problem: I’m really not that much fun.  Ask anyone who knows me well to think of five adjectives to describe me, and I doubt the word “fun” would come up too often.  My point in all this isn’t to bash myself or to look for any pity (for the record, I’m perfectly fine with not being “fun,” I like my other traits just fine) – my point is that for me to plan something like the “Night of Awesomeness” I need a strong team to help me out.

Left up to myself, a “Night of Awesomeness” would probably be better describe as “Night of I-Didn’t-Have-Anything-Else-To-Do-So-This-Was-Fun-Enough.”  Instead, as I consider what we have planned for Saturday night, I’m legitimately excited… and very thankful for the team of youth workers whom God has brought to our youth ministry.  Everyone has something they’re passionate about, something they’re good at, something to contribute to your team.  If you’re like me, you might feel a little guilty standing back from the planning of different events because someone else is taking the lead – but trust me, sometimes the best thing we can do is to trust our team to use their strengths while we fade into the background.

So Keith, Alyson, Kevin… thanks for your work on the NOA2, it’s going to live up to it’s name because of all your work (and if it doesn’t live up to it’s name, then it’s on me!).  To the rest of the team, Trisha, Michele, Josh, Cait… I love everything you contribute to our ministry.  This really isn’t about the NOA2 at all, it’s just what spurred on my thankfulness for you.  We’re better together…

“Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.” (1 Corinthians 12:12)

Leave a Reply

