Mike’s Favorite Posts from 2015

As I look back on this year, the resurrection of my passion for writing shines through. I’ve put quite a bit of work into learning more about how to be a better blogger, so I’ve cleaned up some of the older posts so their format fits my new style but I haven’t changed any content.

Since I write primarily for youth workers and parents. Some of these are for you to share with your teens, some of them are for your own benefit. Either way, here are my favorite posts from this past year.

I’d LOVE to hear which is your favorite! Please let me know in the comment section below.

(FYI: I’m trying to group these by type of article, not by order of which I like the most.)

A YOUTH PASTOR’S DATING ADVICE TO TEENAGERS
I wanted to write you this letter to address a really important question. Dating, relationships, and church are a strange combination and it can be uncomfortable to ask about. Here are a few things I want you to know.

SUICIDE IS NEVER THE ANSWER
This article was spurred by Robin Williams’ suicide, when the image of Aladdin’s Genie was going viral with the caption, “Genie, you’re free.” Suicide is not freedom and is never the answer.

WHAT I’VE LEARNED ABOUT SUFFERING
I don’t know anyone who has learned the most in life during periods of ease and comfort. Obviously, we don’t look forward to suffering, but here’s what I’ve learned about those seasons… 

HOW TO KNOW GOD’S WILL
How do we know what God wants us to do? Have you ever felt paralyzed by the fear that you’re going to ruin your life by making the wrong decision? Here are three simple (but difficult) things to keep in mind.

JUSTIN BIEBER IS SORRY: HOW TO EARN BACK TRUST
This post is a summary of a series we did in youth group about forgiveness, conflict resolution, and group unity. Forgiveness is given, trust is earned… but what does that look like?

ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT THINGS A PARENT CAN REMEMBER
Parents, our kids need to know they are loved. But if they only know that as a fact it isn’t enough. Our kids need to feel loved too.

WHAT IS THE TRUTH WORTH?
This post was inspired by Deflategate. The simple question is this: “Which is more valuable – truth in reporting, or reporting it first?” And what does that answer reveal about our culture today?

HOW SHOULD CHRISTIANS VIEW THE OLD TESTAMENT?
If “all Scripture” is truly God-breathed… then why don’t we pay as much to the OT as we know we should? I think it’s simply because we don’t know how to understand it. This article should help.

YOUTH MINISTRY & SEMINARY: WHY BOTHER?
Does seminary matter? Can’t I just keep on serving in ministry without the formal education? Of course you CAN, but here are my reasons why seminary is worth the investment.

I’d love to hear which article(s) you’ve found the most helpful. Please leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

